Popularly known as kutta ka atta in India, buckwheat makes a significant appearance on the Indian dining table during Navratri, when a lot of people, especially in North India, stray away from cereal grains such as wheat and rice for those nine days. So yes, it is not a member of the grass family and instead falls under the category of pseudo-cereals because it is actually a fruit seed.
The buckwheat plant is a short-season crop and often grown as a reliable, second crop. The seeds are ground into flour which is then used to make a number of delicacies. Unlike wheat, buckwheat is gluten free and has a more rustic, earthy flavour to it.